Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority Annual General Meeting 19 June 2024

Report of Democratic Services Manager

Subject: Membership of the Authority and its Committees, Groups and External Organisations

Purpose of Report

To agree the appointment of Members to the Authority's internal Committees, Groups and External Organisations.

Background

It is the practice at the Annual General Meeting to agree the membership of the Authority, its Committees and Groups, together with Members' representation of the Authority on external organisations. To aid Members in their deliberations, the membership for 2023/24 is set out in Appendix 1. Where there are vacancies, these are highlighted.

Members will recall that at the last meeting of the Authority it was resolved to combine the work of the Human Resources and Member Support and Development Committees. Nominations are therefore sought for Membership of this Committee. Dates of meetings will be 18 September 2024, 18 December 2024, 19 March 2025 and 11 June 2025.

Members will note that the Standards Committee Appointments Panel consists of the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority, Chair of Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee, Councillor S Alderman and a lay member. Recruitment is currently taking place for an Independent Member of the Standards Committee and it will therefore be necessary for this Panel to meet in the coming weeks. At present the Deputy Chair of the Authority is also the Chair of the Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee and a nomination is therefore sought for a Member to sit on the Panel. Please note that Members of the Standards Committee cannot be members of the Appointments Panel.

Please note that the membership of the Investigating and Disciplinary Committee, the Grievance Committee and the Appeals Committee will have to be agreed at a later date, once all Chairs/Deputy Chairs have been elected to office.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

Members are requested to:

- 1. Agree the Membership of the Human Resources Committee.
- 2. Appoint a Member to the Standards Committee Appointments Panel

3. Confirm/amend (as appropriate):

- a) the membership of the remaining Committees and Groups; and
- b) the Authority's representation on External Organisations.

Author: Caroline Llewellyn, Democratic Services Manager

Background documents: None

(For further information please contact Caroline Llewellyn, Democratic Services Manager on 01646 624804 or by e-mailing carolinel@pembrokeshirecoast.org.uk)

PEMBROKESHIRE COAST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY



MEMBERSHIP OF AUTHORITY, ITS COMMITTEES AND GROUPS 2023 – 2024

NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

All Members

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE All Members

AUDIT AND CORPORATE SERVICES REVIEW COMMITTEE (6 PCC, 3 WG)

Councillor S Alderman Councillor D Clements Councillor M James Councillor B Price Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall Councillor V Thomas

Dr M Havard Dr R Heath-Davies Mrs S Hoss

OPERATIONAL REVIEW COMMITTEE (6 PCC; 3 WG)

Councillor Dr SL Hancock Councillor PJ Morgan Councillor M Wiggins Councillor C Williams Vacancy Vacancy Mrs J James Mr GA Jones Dr RM Plummer

HR COMMITTEE (6 PCC; 3 WG)

Councillor D Clements Councillor Dr SL Hancock Councillor M James Councillor R Jordan Councillor PJ Morgan Councillor A Wilcox Dr R Heath-Davies Mrs J James Mr GA Jones

MEMBER SUPPORT AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE (9 Members)

Councillor D Clements Councillor M James Councillor R Jordan Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall Councillor A Wilcox Councillor M Wiggins Mrs S Hoss Mrs J James Dr RM Plummer

EMPLOYEE FORUM (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor B Price Councillor V Thomas Councillor C Williams Vacancy Mrs S Hoss Mrs J James

CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT GROUP (4 Members)

Chair, National Park Authority Chair, Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee Chair, Operational Review Committee Chair, Development Management Committee

GRANTS COMMITTEE (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor S Alderman Councillor Dr SL Hancock Councillor M James Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall Dr M Havard Dr RM Plummer

STANDARDS COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS PANEL

Chair and Deputy Chair, National Park Authority Chair, Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee Councillor S Alderman One lay Member

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (2 PCC; 1 WG plus four Independent

Members)

Councillor Dr SL Hancock Dr RM Plummer Councillor M James

Mr J Daniels Mr P Davies Ms W Taylor Mrs V Tomlinson

YOUTH COMMITTEE (1 Member representative)

Mrs S Hoss

Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall Vacancy (Substitutes)

VOLUNTEER FORUM (1 Member representative)

Councillor M James

Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall (Substitute)

INCOME DIVERSIFICATION WORKING GROUP (Up to 6 Members –

PCC or WG) Councillor D Clements Vacancy Vacancy

Mrs S Hoss Dr RM Plummer <mark>Vacancy</mark>

NOTE:

The Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority are ex-officio Members of all Committees, Groups, etc. The immediate past Chair is also regarded in this capacity for a period of one year only after vacating the office of Chair.

PEMBROKESHIRE COAST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

REPRESENTATION ON EXTERNAL ORGANISATIONS 2023 – 24

UK NATIONAL PARKS CHAIRS' FORUM

Chair, National Park Authority

Deputy Chair, National Park Authority (Substitute)

NATIONAL PARKS WALES

Chair and Deputy Chair, National Park Authority

WELSH LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

COUNCIL

Chair, National Park Authority

Dr R Heath-Davies (Substitute)

EXECUTIVE BOARD

Chair, National Parks Wales

JOINT COUNCIL FOR WALES

Councillor S Alderman

Vacancy (Substitute)

RURAL FORUM Chair, National Park Authority

WG PARTNERSHIP COUNCIL FOR WALES

Chair, National Parks Wales

SOUTH WEST WALES CORPORATE JOINT COMMITTEE

Chair, National Park Authority

Deputy Chair (Substitute)

STRATEGIC PLANNING COMMITTEE

Deputy Chair

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Councillor S Hancock

REGIONAL TRANSPORT PLANNING SUB-GROUP

Councillor M James

REGIONAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT SUB-GROUP Vacancy

REGIONAL ENERGY STRATEGY SUB-GROUP Councillor S Alderman



CAMPAIGN FOR NATIONAL PARKS (One Member)

Dr M Havard

ALLIANCE FOR WELSH DESIGNATED LANDSCAPES (One Member) Dr M Havard

NATIONAL COASTAL FORUM (FORMERLY CARDIGAN BAY GROUP/ADVISORY GROUP)

Councillor M James

Dr M Havard (Substitute)

PORT OF MILFORD HAVEN ADVISORY COMMITTEE (One Member

plus Substitute) Councillor S Alderman

Vacancy (Substitute)

PEMBROKESHIRE LOCAL ACCESS FORUM (One Member) Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall

SAUNDERSFOOT HARBOUR ADVISORY COMMITTEE (One Member) Councillor C Williams

PEMBROKESHIRE COLLEGE ADVISORY FORUM Vacancy

PEMBROKESHIRE COAST NATIONAL PARK TRUST (Two Members)Dr M HavardCouncillor M Wiggins

SKOMER MARINE CONSERVATION ZONE ADVISORY GROUP (One Member)

Councillor P Morgan

VISIT PEMBROKESHIRE

Councillor D Clements